Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Errors in Hex files. Can U Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

stoker

Yes, another beginner. Bought 2 Hex. files, one for 16c54 and one for 16c55. Both show a "checksum error line 65"
I have used a "decompiler/disassembler" to get to a machine code listing, but that sort of leaves me cold too. Using MPLAB programme, the 16c54 will run in debug, but not correctly, the other one for the 16c55 fails all in MPLab.

I am a total novice, still trying to learn the codes etc. So my request to anyone with the experience, can you offer to help out. I am totally lost with this lot. The seller isnt interested in helping out at all.

Many thanks.
stoker

Hi,

Perhaps I'm missing some point here, but buying the .hex code for a one time programable near obselete chip does not make much sense.

You say you are running it in Mplab with debug - but how / which debugger - do you have the source code as well ?

Disassembling the code leaves most people cold - its of little use like that, unless you are very clever.

Perhaps if you gave us some idea of what the programs are and do, then we can help you do things the right way round.

Provided that the hex files are not copyright, you can post them here for someone to fix. Or just post line 65 and we can likely tell you what it should be.

16c54 and 16c55 hex problems.