Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ethical question

Status
Not open for further replies.

robertdean

I am new to the world of electronics. Recently I have been doing some research to gain both the knowledge and skills that I would need to pursue electronic curcuit design and building as a hobby. Recently as I was browsing the internet I came across the user manual for a kit that I found rather interesting. So I went to the company's website and looked for the kit, however was not able to find it online. I then contacted the company through email to see if maybe they still had some, however was told that they no longer make the kit and did not have any to sell. The manual that I found included a board and componet layout along with all of the required componets.

This got me thinking. I could use this as an exercise to learn the CAD program that I have chosen. I could also use
it as an exercise in identifying and selecting the componets. I could also use it as an exercise in creating and building a pcb.

I was wondering what would be any ethical issues that I might face in using the manual that I was able to find and creating a schematic, board layout, pcb, and building the divice? I would strictly only be doing this for a learning experience and for my own personal use, not for finical gain.

Also has anyone here bought or tried to buy the rights to an electronics kit or other item? I might consider this if
the company would be willing and if the price was reasonable.