Field Effect Tansistors - info?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys I'm new to the forum. I'm from Greece and as the nickname implies I'm studying automation engineering in Greece. The school has a whole lot of electronics and while I have actually passed the exams on the related subjects I found out that I actually do not know a lot about electronics, not because I can't remember what I studied but because it was not taught properly. Well anyway to get to the point, at some point we were taught about JFET amplifiers but I cannot actually recall being taught how FET's work. I was wondering if anyone could help me with that.

Thanks a lot.

Last edited:
Simplistic view: A three terminal (gate, source, drain) device where voltage applied gate-source controls current that flows drain-source. High input impedance, so almost no gate current flows. Down load some JFET and NFET data sheets from the manufacture's web sites and study them.

Last edited:
JFETs have a diode type input gate and are normally on with zero gate-source voltage. The gate is reverse biased to turn the transistor off.

MOSFETS have an insulated gate and are normally off (with few exceptions) with zero gate-source voltage. The gate is forward biased to turn the transistor on.

We have the same problem here in the 'States. I learned far more by sitting in the basement with a hot soldering iron and a pile of parts than I ever learned sitting in some classroom.

Well anyway to get to the point, at some point we were taught about JFET amplifiers but I cannot actually recall being taught how FET's work. I was wondering if anyone could help me with that.

Design Equations:

Id= Idss(1 - Vgs / Vp)^2

Gm= (2 / Vp)[sqrt(Id * Idss)]

Where:

Id: Operating drain current

Idss: Saturation drain current with the gate and source shorted together

Vp: Pinch-off gate voltage

It is necessary to keep in mind that pinch-off voltage, since a JFET won't swing Vds below Vp without clipping and going nonlinear.