Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

First project, audio spectrum analyser.

Status
Not open for further replies.

serj.t.s

First project, audio visualization.

Hi, I'm still very new to pic programming (and am still waiting for my programmer to arrive), for a first project I want to do something like this audio spectrum display:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWTPD4bjHms
Very cool looking :p

I'm thinking of using 74154 4:16bit decoders one for the column select and the other to select a row. To have the option of selecting "bar mode" or "dot mode" I could use two independent row decoders with different wirings. And probably I'd have to buffer each output because I'm sure the decoder can't handle 16 leds(about 320mA?!).

My question relies in the processing/pic part. The guy in the video says he used band pass filters, I'm shure i'll find out how to do that with opamps. The filters can range from 30Hz to about 18Khz, probably evenly spaced between this.

Then comes the tricky part, what next? How do I get this all into a pic?

For this job I have a 16F917 with a ADC (also have a 16f59, no ADC). How can I multiplex the filter's outputs to the PIC's ADC? With a counter in the mux's select lines so the pics ports are free?

The discription in youtube says "The audio information is then digitized and converted to linear,1,2 or 3 db logarithmic scales." I don't understand this, if it is converted to a logarithmic scale it is logarithmic not linear, right? And what do the 1,2 or 3dB mean?