Floor Cleaning Robot Brainstorming

Status
Not open for further replies.

pop

Hi,

I am thinking of building a robot to clean/mop my floor. I am not new to robots, but I am new to lightweight design of a vacuum/scrubber/mop system that I would fit on my robot (or robots to reduce the weight). Now this robot would be the size of Scooba or Romba (2 commercial robots, maybe 30 cm in diameter), as I want it to be big enough to maneuver around the furniture.

I need an idea for the mop and vacuum systems that would be lightweight and powered from a robot’s battery pack (battery will be sized as based on the requirements from microcontroller, sensors, motors and cleaning units but again trying to keep it cheap).
I am aware that there are car vacuums which run on 12 V supply, but I am wondering if you guys have any other ideas for the vacuum?

My main problem is with mopping system design.

The simplest breakdown of mopping is to:
1. Spill the clean water over a “dirty” surface of the floor
2. Use the mop over that surface
3. Collect the dirty water from the floor
4. Clean the mop
5. Move on to next “dirty” area.
6. Repeat the above process

Can anybody suggest a way of achieving this, or point me to a website as I had no luck with google-ing?
How is this done on industrial or other robots?

I don’t mind building more than one robot each one assigned to do a specific task. I just hope that some of you guys can help me in brainstorming for the mop system.

Thank you

Hi there

i try to explain how i would do those 6 steps

1) you have a tank on a robot what is filled with water (and soap) and this is "dripped" on the floor through a hose (or another tube) in the front of the robot.

2) there is a spinning mop under the robot (or thwo, what is better) that clean the floor

3) to collect the used water, there is another (or the same tank can be used if using vanish that "collects the dirt to the bottom of the tank")