Frequency Detector Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wayneio

Hi there,

This is my first time on this forum and i have searched for my question but couldnt find exactly what i need

I would like to try and build a Frequency Detector circuit using an LM3915. Is this possible?

I.E i would like more LEDs to light up as the frequency gets higher. If it is possible i would preferably like it to be as small a circuit as possible so its easy to make, as i am quite new to Electronics.

Thanks

LM2907/LM2917 frequency-to-voltage converters: **broken link removed**

Ken

Last edited:
You could just use a diode charge pump (2 cap + 2 diodes). It's simpler/cheaper albeit less accurate.

If the input signal has a 50-50 duty cycle, the output of the charge pump will always be the same, regardless of frequency...within limits.

In order to have an output voltage proportional to input frequency you would have to change the input signal to a fixed width pulse with a monostable. That makes the monostable's output PWM proportional to input frequency. This followed by an RC low pass filter. Think....analog tachometer.

Ken

Sorry, I should have said: ... diode charge pump (2 caps + 2 diodes + 1 resistor) ...

The resistor is on the output cap to ground.

Still won't make much difference. The resistor/load will only lower the "averaged" output voltage. With a 50% duty cycle input...sine, square, triangle, whatever...the time your charge pump diodes conduct will be exactly the same...50%...regardless of the frequency. So the "averaged" output will always be the same. This is all based on the fact that charge pump caps are large, relative to the frequency range. But, we don't know what the OP's signal is....frequency, voltage, wave shape...

ken

But, we don't know what the OP's signal is....frequency, voltage, wave shape...
That is true. I just checked an he wants a frequency detector (not a freq counter, which is what I read/assumed).