Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Full color LED's sync to music

Status
Not open for further replies.

arthur106

I know almost nothing about electronics, I know about basic electric theory as I just completed AP Physics, but when it comes to designing useful circuits, I'm a noob.
I want to have some full color LED's in my car that will vary in brightness depending on the volume of the music. They will come on at a certain volume and get brighter as the music gets louder.
I figure that the three bases of the LED's (red, blue, green) can each be controlled by a potentiometer or variable resistor. That way, by twisting three knobs, I can choose any color I want for the LED's. (I guess they will have to be in series with a resistor and transistor so that I will have the option of turning each color completely on or off).
To make the lights sync with the music, I think I will have to use RCA output to control the amount of current from my 12V car battery that will power the lights. (I have to RCA outputs that are unused, and I don't want to rip my doors off to get to the speakers, so either RCA or a 3.55mm audio jack are my only options). How should I go about using the RCA output to control the amount current that goes into the lights from the car battery?
What do y'all think about this? Any ideas to make it better? Is there any possibility that I will end up turning my car into a giant ball of fire?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!