Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting 12 volts out of an ac outlet

Status
Not open for further replies.

rvk2

Hey guys, newbie here...I have a project for which a small part requires a 12volt supply. I was wondering if there's some place you guys know of where I can read up on how to get a DC supply from the regular AC outlets. What I'm trying to do is make something light up, and for this I need a 12volt supply from the regular AC outlet. I've never really worked with the AC outlets, and wouldn't wanna put the house out of power without knowing what to do. So what kind of device would I need so I can just plug into the outlet and get a 12volt dc supply?

Purchasing a complete power supply is likely to be the best approach. The one that Amri points out is often called a 'wall wart' - probably because of the way it apears on a wall when plugged into an outlet.

What you should do is determine, as best you can, the requirements of your power supply in terms if volts (min, max), and current (usually max is enough). Quite often an item that requires 12 VDC will run acceptably if the voltage varies by a few volts either way though some things require a tighter tolerance. The power supply current capability must be equal to or in excess of your requirements with one exception - the 12 volt wiring and the device you are powering should be protected from over-current. The supply might be capable of delivering more current than the wire or load can handle.