Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting a Kid Started With Circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

sumpm1

Hey guys. I am new to electronics. I wan to get my son into circuit building. I am doing a small Arduino project that requires some circuit knowledge, with the end result being something I can use for my music.

But along the way I want teach my kid how to build circuits from a schematic. Of course resources on this topic are easy to find. But they are usually for a little bit larger circuits, and the circuit is usually specific to music, motors and robotics... So my son would not see the use of the end result unless he was already more in depth with one of those topics. He's 14 and hasn't been into any of those things, just video games mostly...

So what is a good resource for finding cheap and easy circuits perhaps just using led's, switches and buttons, and audio jacks?

Can anyone recommend books that teach through projects?

I already have "Make: Electronics 2009."

Thanks

Although dated, to me, one of the easiest and most immediately rewarding circuits was a crystal (or diode) radio.

No batteries required, no soldering, impossible to blow up, wiring errors easily fixed, AUDIO OUT, easy to learn how it works, exposure to a LOT of electronic theory, etc..

Except for having to deploy an ample antenna (just a long wire, and more learning experience) it's the "ticket".