Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Got any MATLAB experience?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donagh

Hi guys,
I working with MATLAB at the moment, I’ve some experience but not an awful lot. I’ve been asked to make a real time processing function in MATLAB, and that’s the thing. I have made all of the operations functions and everything is ready to go but I’m not sure how to operate MATLAB in real time, I don’t even know where to start.
Anyone got any pointers?

I often hear about that the data acquisition use the RS232 serial port. Is that your need?

No I have that working already, I'm taking serial strings from a microcontroller and processing them but I can only do it in a stop go sort of way, one string at a time. What I need is nonstop string processing in some sort of loop, and then I suppose I would have graphs updating with the new information that’s coming in.

I can understand your meaning. For example, the record graphic of a whole year temperature.
If you were using a ”for“ cycle operation. Can it work?

s = serial ('the COM1');% create the COM1 serial port object and identify it with an s.
the fopen ();% open COM1 serial port.
fprintf (s, 'IDN?');% to the COM1 serial port output the string 'IDN? '.
idn in = fscanf (s);% from COM1 serial port read into the characters to the variable idn.
fclose (s);% to close the COM1 serial port.
delete (s);% COM1 serial port object is removed from the computer's memory, free up space