Got some chips, but cant find programmer!

Status
Not open for further replies.

serj.t.s

Hi all, I recently got my hand on three PIC's, they are a PIC16F917 and a PIC16F59, and a 18f24j10 smd(dont ask ). I know i could probably get to program these if u were to buy an universal programmer(not the smd i suppose), but i don't have that kind if money. And i've downloaded several programs(ponyprog, icprog) to see if these are included in their supported list, but they aren't. Does anyone know of a simple effective way i can programm these, or will they stay unprogrammed forever . Im really not a expert in programming microcontrollers, but I've seen that you can program these chips serially but they need a bootloader preprogrammed right?
I live in Portugal(Europe), if there really aren't any diy programmers which one should i buy?

Thanks all!

Check if the MicroChip ICD2 covers them?, then you could build an InchWorm (or Inchworm+) ICD2 clone - which is very reasonably priced.

It seems like i chose a pair of complicated PICs to start with..
The datasheets refer ICSP but only in the 16F91 i found a instance on ICD2.

Looking at the Inchworm+'s manual it says it supports the 16F917 but with the 16F59 it has programmer support only. So I guess i'll have to buy that, and i've seen ill have to use a breadboard to program the chips because it doesn´t have anything to fit the chips right?

I'll also have to buy a USB 2 Serial converter because my laptop doesnt have RS232.. bummer..
Does a chip require a bootloader to use inchworm+? Or can I program these virgin chips with it.

Thanks.

Last edited:

The ICD2 is an in-circuit programmer, you can make a simple little board (with a ZIF socket if you like) in order to program chips out of circuit.

I'll also have to buy a USB 2 Serial converter because my laptop doesnt have RS232.. bummer..

The InchWorm+ has an optional extra board, the Unicorn, which makes the InchWorm+ in to a USB ICD2 (again, a MicroChip clone).