Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Guide on making centipede robot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sodrohu

Hi there.

I'm a second year student taking EE engineering. Of late, I've been thinking of making a crawling robot resembling a centipede.

Currently the plan is all in my head. For a start, the first segment of the robot (the head) would have six legs. I plan to construct the head segment first, and test it around, to see whether it's moving according to how I want it to be. After that, if it's good, then i'll start with another segment, which will be connected to the head. Again, I'll test it to see if it moves well, and if it does, I'll add another segment. This continues until I have, say, 6-10 segments, depending on budget.

SO my questions would be:
1. I dunno what kind of sensors I should put in my robot. Currently, I'm just thinking of making it move just like its real-life counterpart, but so far I'm not sure on what kind or sensor it should have.

2. The kind of motor drivers I would be working on. I'm planning on using plain DC motors for this, but I'm not sure on the driver part. I've seen the ones in ikalogic's and David Cook's website, and I'm aiming for an efficient motor driver so maybe I'll using MOSFETS.

Oh, and my budget, being a student, won't be much. Maybe around RM500 or something (That's around 150 dollars for you.)

Anyway later I'll post the planned drawings of the robot.

hi,:)

Google for Cricket the Robot

That site has a spider type robot