Has anyone taken the City & Guilds (6958-01)/ Level 2/3 course?

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve0105

I would like to take the Level 2 Progression Award in Electrical and Electronics
Servicing – Consumer/ Commercial Electronics (6958-01) in September and was wondering if anyone out there has completed the course or if there is a tutor on this forum that could give some advise.

I would like to know how much practical work is involved, would you be able to repair TV's etc.. at the end of the course?

What projects are involved in the course/
Would there be any Electronic projects I could purchase to get ahead of the game- (i.e breadboards IC's etc..)

Being a total novice to Electronics I would like to have some knowledge before commencing.

Any information would be appreciated

Thanks
Steve
Staffordshire, UK

I have done that C & G course. The certificate is valid all over the world. To attend to a job it is valid, or to migrate to another country it is valid. But no more practical experience I have gained from it. I got some few electronic knowledge from that course.

I learned much more about electronics not from courses. It’s from what I did at home.
Making circuits, Measuring, burning etc…..

For my practical exams these were involved
Biasing a transistor, simple opamp-measuring the gain etc…oscilloscope practice…reading resistor values …some times 555 calculation’s.

All the circuits done in the breadboards. No soldering practice. for the computer project there was some small access database. It’s very easy.

I would like to know how much practical work is involved, would you be able to repair TV's etc.. at the end of the course?
Don’t even think about it. If you want to repair TV’s better go for a TV repair course. Nothing teached about TV’s.

The course was all the time with transistor biasing, Some small op amp calculation’s & some small digital gate circuits. In electrical subject - types of Motors, AC line calculation’s etc.