Heating a metal to a specific degree

Status
Not open for further replies.

kyoo

Hello. I am totally new with electronics and need help.

I need to heat a small thin piece of rod around 1mm in diameter and about 5-7cm long and raise it to a certain degree lets say 50 degrees C and keep it at that degree with maybe 2 degrees tolerance until a switch is turned off. I assume that the electric power required will be minimal due to the small section that need to be heated up and can be done with a small battery.

I would love it if there was no easy way(such as a rotating dial) to change the temperature after the circuit is made.

Also, how small of a volume would the whole circuit take up excluding the power source assuming it is made as small as possible(assuming multiple layers of circuits)?

Is it also possible to heat maybe 1cm at the end of the rod only or does it require the whole system to be heated up uniformly?

Thank you so much in advance.

Just as important - what's the rod sitting in?

If it's in a dewar flask, you can run it for ages off a couple of AA batteries.
If it's in the Atlantic ocean, the batteries will die quickly.

I'm just working on a small project for my company so I can't go into details :'(
Material wise, I think any metal with high thermal conductivity such as copper(which is the most used "rod") should be ok.
The rod is sitting in air at room temperature.

Also thanks for all the replys.

Last edited:
Induction heating is probaly the most efficient way.

You can monitor the temperature using a non-contact inrared sensor.

An MCU is probably the best way of doing it.

I've never done anything like this before.

ahh it sounds....more complicated than what I anticipated. Is it because of the constant temperature setting?
I dont know what induction heating or MCU is so I'll have to go research more about it to see if it'll solve what I want to achieve.
If anyone else has any suggestions, I'll be happy to look into it.