Hello again, dusk sensor project

Status
Not open for further replies.

dickspanner

Hi,
I posted on here a long time ago with my idea for a circuit I wanted to build, someone kindly pointed me to a couple of diagrams which I tried to build on breadboard but could not get to work, then I got side tracked and the idea was shelved for a while. I got all the parts from Maplin which was cheap except the breadboard.

I have now returned to trying to build this and would like some help if possible.
I am a complete novice as I have not done electronics since school so please treat me as a child.

My project is as follows:-
I want to have a bank of 12v 1.1w led bulbs powered from a car battery which is switched on at dusk, but the duration of the lights being adjustable due to seasonal requirements, Eg longer in the winter etc.
My thoughts were a dusk sensor, which when energised (eg goes dark) would power a timed on circuit which in turn would energise a relay. The timer would be adjustable via a pot. Hope that is the right word.
The circuits could also be powered via the 12v car battery.

Hope that makes sence.

I want to get this on a bread board and get it working before I take it across to strip board etc.
Any help would be great

Dickspanner

night detector

I did this about 20 years ago. It requires less than 4 square inches of board space and does a good job of ignoring interference, like passing car headlights. The timer chip is programmable with dip switches. The output is a light flasher with a 10% duty cycle...one tenth of a second per second if I remember correctly.

Anyway, it can give you ideas.

Attachments

• nightdetector.PNG
    633.8 KB · Views: 242
Wow, that looks fantastic, a lot more complicated than my previous attempts.

Here comes the first of probably many stupid questions in relation to the diagram,

I presume the triangles are 0v are these just to be connected together? Told you I know nothing about electronics.