Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help - 1st time ehernet project

Status
Not open for further replies.

deweyusa

Hi

So I've decided I want to commit to the idea of an automation project with ethernet control. I have no experience to date with ethernet interfaces, and wanted to ask a group who did about the basics they'd recommend to get going.

I have loads of experience with Microchip 16 series mid-range 8-bit processors, but only using assembly. In all those years, even in school, I didn't ever look that closely at Atmel's products until recently, when I decided that programming in asm was just a little more time consuming than I'd like. It seemed like a fun challenge back then, but I just don't want as much gut-level stuff anymore.

In looking at what's out there, I've found that there seems to be much more open-source support for programming in C on Atmel's chips, like WinAVR with avr-gcc, using the Eclipse IDE. I really like the amount of community involvment I see, the level of sophistication in the tools and the amount of free tools. Not to mention the whole single-cycle instruction thing is pretty cool. I'm wondering why I haven't gotten started with the AVR line earlier.