Help figuring out this circuit from a toy.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyLinde

Hey guys. Pulled this flashing LED circuit out of a toy. Here is a drawing of what it looks like. Much appreciated if you could help me replicate it! I apologize for the bad drawing, but I'm a novice.

**broken link removed**

It is an LED flashing circuit where the red one flashes twice then the blue one flashes twice and repeats.

Can anyone tell me how to replicate this? Or create a new circuit that does the same thing... that is easy to make?

Thanks!

hi,
The black thing is called a COB, chip on board, under the black goo is a small IC die.

You could do the same flashing of two led's using a 555 timer 8 pin IC..

Thanks Eric! Can you (or anyone else) explain which pins of the 555 IC I need to attach everything to so I get the flashing pattern I described? (red flashes twice, then blue flashes twice, etc. quite fast)

I have looked online for schematics but none of them explain how to get this specific flashing pattern. Many thanks!

How many LEDs do you what to use? What power soarce will you use? Andy

I personally would use a 556, which is just two 555s in one chip. I'm not exactly sure how you'd get that particular flashing pattern, though. The best way I can think of would be a programmable chip, which is relatively complicated and expensive.

I personally would use a 556, which is just two 555s in one chip. I'm not exactly sure how you'd get that particular flashing pattern, though. The best way I can think of would be a programmable chip, which is relatively complicated and expensive.

hi DS,
For a simple device I would use say a 555 and a 4017, 4 signal diodes would give the required led pattern.