Help me understand the capabilities of PLLs

Status
Not open for further replies.

tony ennis

Disclaimer - I'm a beginner at electronics.

I'm working on a project that requires either a rather large number of pulses from an encoder wheel, or I need to generate a lesser number of pulses and use a PLL to produce the desired number.

This is for a machine tool where the rotation of the first spindle must remain synchronized with the timing of a 2nd. In short, I've got a lathe and I want it to cut screw threads using a stepper motor.

My problems are solved if I can determine that a PLL can reliably generate a pulse train even when the input signal varies. Every distortion in the signal generated by the PLL will result in a positioning error on the stepper.

I don't know how to describe the load variation, but it's something like this:

Assume the spindle is turning at 60 RPM (1 RPS.) From this, I could be generating 128 PPR the thus generate a 128 Hz signal. My PLL would have to receive this and generate a signal 50x as great - 6.4 KHz. So we're guiding one piece of steel into another... when they meet, the spindle's RPMs will drop, at least for in instant, as the load increases. The drop is nearly instantaneous in a physical sense. It might be glacially slow in the electronic sense. I don't know. So the signal would drop from 128Hz to perhaps 100Hz in a fraction of a second. The PLL would have to respond without transmitting too many extra, or too few, pulses. Further, the frequency of the spindle pulses would be varying by a lesser degree all the time. Nothing is perfect. The PLL would have to respond in kind.