Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help: Need Right Light Sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

DragonKry255

I am only a beginner in electronics, so I don't know much about light sensing. I need the correct light sensor for the following environment: the area needing to be sensed is about 1/2-1 foot away, there is a reasonable amount of ambient light reflecting onto the surface. When lit, it is noticeably but only somewhat brighter than its unlit state. Do I use a plain photoresistor with a tube to avoid ambient light, or something else?

How about a very simple LDR (light dependent resistor). Putting it in a simple potential divider you would see the output voltage changing as the illumination changes. Then, if you wanted, a voltage comparator could be used to determine a threshold for switching on an indicator LED.

Does that help?

You kinda lost me. Are you saying use a simple photoresistor and there will always be voltage but the comparator will determine how much is needed to light the LED?

Am I correct in thinking this is your problem?

Light source ---- (distance is 1 foot ish)----- SENSOR -> Indicator (LED for example)

Under ambient conditions (light source off) the LED is unlit.
When light source switches on, sensor detects light being greater than the ambience and LED is lit.

Just a side note, what power is your light source? 1 foot is 30cm and in normal daylight you may struggle to register a difference between light source and the sunlight.