help needed in piezo electric guys.......

Status
Not open for further replies.

rocky06

recently i came across an article..... from this i got an idea of charging a li-ion battery using piezo electrics... the only prob faced is current requirements... the current from a piezo crystal is very low... is there any techniques to enhance or boost the current value.... this may look foolish but its a just a thought arised....HELP ME EXPERTS .......

Well, I'm not an expert in piezo electrics. Actually I have never used one for energy harvesting. However, recently I have read **broken link removed** article which seems to describe a solution to your case.

Independently of the previous mentioned article, I believe that one possible solution would be to use a super-capacitor. The piezo electric transducer charges constantly (well, whenever there is available energy from the environment) the super-capacitor. When the charge in the super-cap is above one certain threshold, then you can use this power to charge a li-ion battery. While charging you can continue to charge the super-cap. When the charge falls below a low threshold, you shut the battery charging off. The switching control can be done either with a MCU or with comparators.

I haven't implemented this, but I hope it will work!

The piezo effect is at best a very poor source of energy there really is no getting around this basic statement. For the size cost and mechanical frailty there are much much better ways of generating electricity from mechanical motion.

Last edited:
nickagian.... thanks for ur suggestion buddy..... ur idea sounds good....... let me implement it test .....