help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

spinmake

Hello friends.

This is my first post here. I am a newbie.While surfing the net i found this forum very active and good source of help.

It is almost a month since i started to take interest in electronics.I took my time to understand the basic components and made few simple circuit mostly just transistors based to learn from these.

Now i think i need a power supply that should be adjustable to test the circuits those i want to make in future. There is lot of circuits on the web available. But i can,t figure out which one i can select for my hobby.

Please help me to design my supply. The specification i need with my supply are as uder...

OUTPUT voltage=0V-12V adjustable
OUTPUT current=lowest possible-3A adjustable.(must have)

i found this simple one.Variable DC Power Supply - RED - Page36. But with different specifications. Can it be modified for my needs.I have a very nice Transformer 18v 5A. But it not center tapped.
I will be much thankfull if i could get some help.Thank you all.

The circuit you found is inexpensive. So its voltage regulation is not very good. The output voltage will drop when it is loaded. Its output transistor gets extremely hot when the output voltage is low or shorted and its current is max at 2A.

The circuit shows a 36VAC center-tapped transformer and two rectifier diodes. You can use your 18VAC transformer with 4 diodes or with a rectifier bridge.