Help with 4060 delay off circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

sboblol

Hello everyone I am just getting started with electronics and I am finding it very fun so far, but I have hit a roadblock in a project I am trying to accomplish.

The project involves a PIR sensor which will turn relay on and off. When the sensor is unoccupied I want a timer to keep the relay on for a certain period of time (1 minute to 30 minutes adjustable) before shutting off. The timer should reset every time a new detection is made.

I have the output from the sensor (it goes to 5.5 V when detects a person and 0 when unoccupied) going to the reset of my 4060 timer which should hopefully restart the timer every time there is a new detection.

I also have another branch from the output of the sensor going to a schmitt trigger to smooth it out.

One problem I am having is the 4060 puts out a very long pulse (it is a 50% duty cycle) when the timer hits the designated time. I need to make this pulse shorter.

The last thing I need help with is trying to get some sort of bistable circuit so that when the output of the schmitt trigger is high it should toggle to a high state and keep it there. Then when the output of the timer (which should be a short pulse) goes high it should toggle low. When both are toggled high at the same time, the state should be high (set should take priority over reset).

If there is a better way to create an adjustable delay off circuit to accomplish what I want using the 4060 please let me know. I tried to put as much information as possible, but if there is any other information you need please let me know. Thanks.

You could use a simple resistor-capacitor differentiator to give a short pulse when the 4060 period ends, and a CD4013 as a set/reset latch.