Help with circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mweels

Hello,

I started a technology club in our local community and am doing a motion analysis workshop. Basically, a microphone picks up a sound from an event (balloon popping, firecracker, etc), triggers a flash and a camera with the aperture gets painted the scene. It makes for some very interesting pictures of things exploding, coming apart, etc.

I purchased a kit but for the life of me cannot get the circuit to work. The circuit basically shorts a disposable camera flash. I can get that to work by shorting to wires to the disposable camera.

I have attached the circuit diagram that came with the kit along with my breadboard.

Can anyone help me in figuring out why this will not short the disposable camera flash when it picks up a sounds?

I am new to electronics (software background), so any information on the circuit or advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

-Marty

Pictures Below

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Last edited:
The SCR is not an ideal switch, as it is polarity sensitive and has a voltage drop. If you do not know the Camera circuitry you may have trouble. Have you tried swapping the leads from the cam to your circuit?

The SCR is not an ideal switch, as it is polarity sensitive and has a voltage drop. If you do not know the Camera circuitry you may have trouble. Have you tried swapping the leads from the cam to your circuit?

There are two cameras involved, one is the camera taking the picture. This has nothing to do with the circuit because it sits with the aperture open waiting for the scene to get painted on.

The other camera is a disposable camera, you basically are just using the flash and that's it. This flashes camera can be trigger by simplifying completing a circuit.

I have two wires coming off the camera and when I put them together the camera flashes. So thats part good...