help with delay routine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a total newbie with pics and I am trying to get my head around assembly.

I have been reading "PIC in Practice" by D.W. Smith.

In it he uses a 0.5 second delay routine.
This routine dosent make sense to me, could someone please
explain it to me.

The circuit uses a 32.768kHz xtl, prescalar is /256, timer is 1/32 secs.
Code:
;0.5 second delay.
DELAYP5        CLRF         TMR0                        ;START TMR0.
LOOPB          MOVF         TMR0,W                     ;READ TMR0 INTO W.
               SUBLW        .16                        ;TIME - 16
               BTFSS        STATUS,ZEROBIT            ;Check TIME-W =0
               GOTO         LOOPB                      ;Time is not =16.
               RETLW        0                          ;Time is 16, return.

As I see it the routine will * clear tmr0
*put tmr0 in w
*subtract 16 from W
*see if answer is 0 if so skip next instruction and then return to program, otherwise it will goto LOOPB.

As I understand it once TMR0 is reset it will start count up with each clock cycle. In this instance that would be 1/32 of a second. Does this mean that for this to really be a 0.5 second delay that it should only take 16 clock cycles from the time the delay is called to the time it returns to the program.

Does this routine acheive this?

Python your loop B is in the wrong spot..
Code:
;0.5 second delay. 
DELAYP5        CLRF         TMR0                        ;START TMR0. 
               MOVF         TMR0,W                     ;READ TMR0 INTO W. 
LOOPB          SUBLW        .16                        ;TIME - 16 
               BTFSS        STATUS,ZEROBIT            ;Check TIME-W =0 
               GOTO         LOOPB                      ;Time is not =16. 
               RETLW        0                          ;Time is 16, return.
try this..

come on, I don't even use assembly and I'm the first one to answer his question for real?