Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with gain circuit for load cell

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,
This is my first time using this forum so just let me know if I am going about this right. I am a second year engineering student.

So I need to build a gain circuit for the load cell for which I have included the data sheet. I would like to achieve the maximum resolution possible using this load cell as the application will be sensing forces in the range of 0-2.5 newtons.

Currently I am running the system on a resistive force sensor (flexiforce) using a dual op amp LM358. This is because there is a separate function in the device in which this type of sensor is suitable. What I would like is to run both the load cell and the resistive sensor off the same 25V DC power supply. If this is not possible or if it is a lot easier to use two power supplies that is an option.

I appreciate any input and guidance.

Thanks,
James Lamarche

Attachments

• load cell.pdf
    186.2 KB · Views: 625
What is the maximum output voltage that the load cell produces .... directly?
What is the maximum voltage that you require to be useful?
The ratio of these two values would be the overall gain that you would design for the op-amp.

The DC voltage supply for the force resistor would might be accomplished with a voltage regulator ... a separate issue.

What is the maximum output voltage that the load cell produces .... directly?