Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with PIC chip and controlling a 230v output?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chems

Hi All,

I hope you can help, I am a computer science student so I'm hopefully ok on the programming the PIC chip but beyond that I'm a bit lost.

What I'd like to try and make is a unit that can control the rotation of a small dremel type tool both in forward and reverse.

I'd like to have 4 buttons as input and have the PIC controller keep track of which have been pressed and in return control the dremel tool to rotate forward and back.

The overall objective being that 2 of the buttons will be point 0 and the other been point 10. The other two button will be increments of 1+ and -. The programming side is required to keep track of the increments so that on asking to return to starting point it will know how many revolutions to complete.

I'm aiming to control the revolutions simple on time the tool is activated for.

How does this sound and can anyone provide help in what hardware I'll need for such a task?

Thanks in Advance!

Sorry, this is not trivial: two answers: 1> PWM and a relay to reverse polarity, 2> PWM through an H-bridge. Neither are simple circuits because of the voltages involved and resulting hazards.
You could approach this through a dimmer pack, but it wouldn't have reverse and speed under load would suffer. I think you need some serious EE talent onboard, above student level. Good Hunting... <<<)))