Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with Temp/Press/Humidity

Status
Not open for further replies.

clwill

I am a relative noob with respect to electronic circuit design, though not completely incapable (soldering skills and so on). I have a fairly simple project and need some help/advice.

I have a data gathering system that accepts user-provisioned sensors. The system can provide either 5v or 12v to the sensor and requires the output to be 0-5v. It can calibrate the output in the software.

I need to capture temperature, barometric pressure, and humidity. I'd like to have some degree of accuracy, but in trolling through sensor catalogs most are fine (e.g. +/- 1C for temp).

But that's really the point. I'm overwhelmed. There are SO many sensors, I can't figure out what I need. There are all kinds of them, and the ones I find that are "simple" all are digital (output a stream via USB for example).

Can someone here help? I need some advice on sensors that you've used that would work for me. Or pointers to projects with designs for this sort of thing. Or ... any help at all, really.

Thanks in advance,
Chris

You need to define your range and environment for each type of sensor.

Ken