Hi-Tech C delay problem (PIC16F877)

Status
Not open for further replies.

juvenile86

Hi, I am new to PIC programming with C language..
My program is simple, which is to set Port B as output, and make a LED connected on any of the Port B pins blink with an interval of 1 second.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include <htc.h>
__CONFIG (0x3F32);

void delay(unsigned long x);

void main()
{
TRISB = 0x00;
PORTB = 0;

while(1)
{

PORTB = 0xFF;
delay(1000);
PORTB = 0x00;
delay(1000);
}
}

void delay(unsigned long x)
{
for(;x>0;x--);
}
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am able to compile and write the HEX code into the PIC microcontroller, but I got output voltage of about 2.45V in all of the port B pins. Anyone have idea what is going wrong here?

I tried to use MikroC built-in delay library, Delay_ms(1000) and everything works fine. So I can be pretty sure there is no problem on my hardware connections. I am using Crystal Oscillator of 20MHz anyway.

Even if you use the largest number for a long - 0xFF - your delay is only going to be about 13 milliseconds: 65535 cycles / (5,000,000 cycles/second) = 0.013107seconds (plus any 'compiler overhead' to get into your delay loop.)

Your delay at 1000 cycles / (5000000 cycles/second) = 0.0002 seconds is much too short to see the LED flash.

If you look at the built in delay you used in Mikro, it wants a parameter for the number of milliseconds to delay, not cycles. You need to use a nested for or something else to get a longer delay.

Last edited:

Hi BeeBop, thanks for spending your time answering my question in here. I have used a nested loop as you suggested yet I still get output voltage of 2.4~2.5V at all the port B pins..

#include <htc.h>
__CONFIG (0x3F32);

void delay(unsigned long x);

void main()
{
TRISB = 0x00;