High Speed Optocouplers

Status
Not open for further replies.

CeeLtd

Hello All

I am a newbie with absolutely no idea about electronics, so am in need of some help.

I have some 1um SINO KA Series Glass Linear scales.
I wish to splice into the signals, using optocouplers to feed into a second device.

I have Signals A, B, Z.

The Manual to the glass scale Says:
+5v(+-5%) 80ma
Maximum of 60cm per second

The DRO display console showing the scales position says:
Allowable Input signal: TTL square wave.
Allowable input signal frequency: >100K Hz
Power voltage: +5v
Signal: TTL Square signals are sent out from two channels with a phase difference of 90degree (with zero position signal) current 50mA

The device I am trying to optocouple to has internal resistors pulling logic High by default, +5v 100mA and max 500Khz input.

The scales would be powered by the DRO +5v
and the optos output side by the device +5v

I have directly wired the scales to the device and it works.

I need to know what opto to use, and it needs to be high speed to handle upto 100 or 500Khz.

Thanks
Carl

You get more help if you had a circuit to look at but I would say any 4n35. I use 2 of them for a sound card scope I made.

Thanks for replying

I have had some outside help, here is the current info:

"It sounds like you DRO could run into trouble at the maximum federate. 100KHz at 1micron resolution is 100,000 x 0.001 = 100mm/sec which is not very fast. You may lose count if you go any faster although I bet the cut-off frequency is probably quite a bit higher.

If you have an opto with 3uS switching time, the best you could hope for would be 6uS for a complete cycle which is 1/6e-6= 167KHz. In reality, this wouldn’t be any good even at that frequency because the signal would look more like a sine wave than a square wave ie it would only just crawl up to a logic 1 in time to slowly sink to a logic 0 with no clean edges. This is more like an analogue signal than a digital one.