Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How are the layers of a multilayer PCB "glued" together?

Status
Not open for further replies.

noptical

Is it that "prepreg" thing I hear about that does this job? Where can one find this stuff? :confused:

Thanks! (hope I posted in the right subforum)

Let be be the first to admit I'm no expert here.

As far as I'm aware, it's a resin compound which is very sticky, the boards are sandwiched together and baked at a high temperature to cure the resin.

Google is wonderful.
**broken link removed**
Pre-preg is nothing more than resin impregnated board that's stored cool then laminated under high temperature and pressure, do you really need to do a multi layer board? Something like that might be better to outsource to a job shop that can do it professionally, unless you really want to do it yourself. I've not really seen any hobby level project that can't be done on single or dual layer boards with an occasional wire jumper here or there for trace efficiency. If this is a bulk production thing, outsource it, the time spent finding companies that can do what you want and getting quotes to find one that will do it well at a reasonable price is FAR better spent than the research to do it yourself.

Thanks everyone for your responses.

Google is wonderful.
**broken link removed**