How to count and record electrical pulse from reed sensor with time control?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vasagamguru

I am new to Electronics, but I can understand little bit electronics and terminalogy. I need to make a sensor using reed sensor. The thing is I need to count the electrical pulse( closure of circuit) and record it in a storage device for long time. The voltage given to the sensor is 5 volt.
Please suggest some tips on this?
Thnaks

You could use a mechanical digit counter. They are fairly low power (maybe 6v at 100mA to "pulse" the counter) and they use zero power when not counting.

And they keep their count for any length of time with no power needed.

Thanks Mr RB. Actually I need to count and store the data like number of pulse after 1 mintute 2 minute , 3 minute, like that for a hour. So it will be like 60 numbers per hour. I hope you understand what I come to say.
Thanks

Well to count pulses and store 60 different numbers per hour the only sensible solution would be to use a microcontroller with memory which involves quite a bit of effort.

Maybe you could just attach it to a PC and use one of the shareware datalogger type programs?

Mr. RB,
Thank you very much. In the internet I saw a loop current data logger, from Easy Logic company. It can store 32K data at 5 second intervals. Can it be used for my purpose. If so please give an idea how to incorporate that data logger in to my unit. It has two leads, and company specified that it can record current in the range of 4 to 20 Milli Ampere.
I await for your reply.

Can you post a link to that logger?
"4-20mA" is a method of transmitting and receiving data in an analog form, not the range of the current measurement.
https://www.bapihvac.com/CatalogPDFs/I_App_Notes/Understanding_Current_Loops.pdf

Ken

Last edited:
Hi