Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to interface a microcontroller with a stepper motor/PC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

perpetual_dream

Hey,
Ive recently purchased the PIC16F628 MCU. I'd like to use to interface the MCU with the computer through the serial port and use it 2control a stepper motor for any kind of application. I've took a microprocessor course in the university. I know how does it work. But I have no experience when it comes to microcontrolers. What is the development tool for the microcontroller and what is the recommended language of programming? Do u have any sources with deals with an interfacving similar to mine?
Thanks in advance :)

Re: How to interface a microcontroller with a stepper motor/

perpetual_dream said:
Hey,
Ive recently purchased the PIC16F628 MCU. I'd like to use to interface the MCU with the computer through the serial port and use it 2control a stepper motor for any kind of application. I've took a microprocessor course in the university. I know how does it work. But I have no experience when it comes to microcontrolers. What is the development tool for the microcontroller and what is the recommended language of programming? Do u have any sources with deals with an interfacving similar to mine?
Thanks in advance :)

You can drive the stepper with a simple transistor interface, assuming it's a unipolar one?.

For the PIC, download the free MPLAB and program in assembler - check my tutorials!.