How to Use a PIC16F873A for IR proximity, school project,simple but help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

MoRoH

Hi all,

I am an electronics engineering technology student doing my final project.

I need to use a PIC16F873A to take an analog voltage and turn motor A on if it is less then 4 and motor B on if it more than a 4.

This is a very simple task, I have some ideas but i have no experience with PIC's.

Thanks in advance

Ok,

I will use a reference voltage of 5v and if V>2.5 motor A will come on and if v < 2.5 V motor B will come on? Is this correct

I am also wondering what type of code is best to use?

What ports should i use for input and output?

Thanks, any help it greatly appriciated

Virtually any port that has the peripheral you need. If you want to read an analog voltage, use one of the analog pins. If you want to output a signal, use virtually any pins. If you want to output a PWM signal to vary the speed of the motor, use an OC pin.

The best code to use is the kind you know.

hmm ADC code

ok,

1) Can someone clarify an OC pin, is that an oscillator pin

2)So i've looked into this a bit more...I'm going to use an analog input (RA0) and output a 8bit binary word on ports (RB0-RB7) for LED. I will also like to output a PWM signal so the stronger the analog signal is the slower the motor will spin.

3) For the ADC it seems pretty simple...from examples i've gotten this code, but it comes with errors. Help would be awesome.

line/column message no. message text
a) 1.3 11 ';' expected by ADCON1 found
b) 1.5 4 specifier needed
c) 1.5 12 internal error

Code:
unsigned short adc_val  ;
void main ( )

ADCON1 = 0x00  ;
TRISA  = 0xff  ;
TRISB  = 0x00  ;
while (1)
(
adc_val = adc_read(2)    ;
portb = adc_val     ;
)

)

OC is Output Compare, the name doesn't seem all that obvious to me unless you know how the OC pin works. In general, an output compare works by comparing a period timer to a counter value.