I blew the budget

Status
Not open for further replies.

Speakerguy

And I am looking forward to it:

**broken link removed**

DPO3034 with DPO3EMBD serial bus decoding module. It gets here next week

$8.5k! Is this just for home personal use? Or what? What do you build? I could buy a turbine RC heli for that much (well, half of one. lol).

Last edited:
I run a little home business that may one day generate some profit. I also got a bit of a discount on it after some haggling with a sales rep. The 300Mhz was necessary for looking at digital audio signals (24.576MHz is a common bit rate). And I've used all their other lesser (TDS2k, TDS3k) scopes and found them lacking. The DPO3K series is essentially a stripped down DPO/MSO4000, and I've seen/used both and they are freaking awesome.

But yeah, when I start fiddling with PWM amps and digital audio I will need the bandwidth and the DPO (instead of DSO) features. I worked as a mixed signal audio apps engineer at Cirrus Logic and when it came to doing serious work I had to bust out the 500MHz DPO7000 (of which we had many). This is as close as I could come, budget being the limiting factor. Minimizing RF emissions from a PWM amp takes bandwidth if you don't want to hose the FM band.

Last edited:
Nice scope for sure! Did you consider something PC based like WinScope or some of the better software available? It's a real savings.

Considering your forum name, do you design speaker systems or the digital circuits driving them? I haven't designed a speaker system since college days. In fact I still have my first set of 12" 3-way acoustic suspension I built way back before kids and pets entered my life, only to disregard the sanctity of my efforts! I have this dream that one day I will refurb those speakers and add them to my JBLs to make a whomping system driven by my 650 watt rms Heath amp.

Last edited: