Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need your help to catch an intruder!! Solar security camera project

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashton86

I am a real amateur when it comes to all things electronics and I was wondering if you could help me.

I have purchased land out in the middle of bush in south queensland and have no power. Unfortunately I have had a fair share of red necks helping them selves to things on my property, or just simply snooping around when I'm not there.

Due to this, I have recently purchased a digital camera that runs off a 9volt battery. It takes a photo when motion is detected with the inbuilt motion sensor, and saves the image on to an SD card. Works an absolute treat for my intentions. However, the 9volt battery only has a life span of about 7 hours.

I need to have the camera continually running while i am away from the property (sometimes up to 1 month). I was considering hooking a solar panel directly to my 7aH 12volt battery, reducing the voltage down to 9v and plugging straight into the camera.

Will this work?

I currently have a 1.5 watt solar panel that i intend on using for the project, will this have enough guts to keep the battery powered? (this panel will get maximum exposure to queensland sunlight if that makes a difference)

If not, can you please tell me the best possible way of achieving my outcome.

Appreciate your help,
here are the below specifications of my camera.

Imaging Sensor: 1/ 4" Color CMOS sensor