I/O card or prototype?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tushiro

Hi everyone,

Im a newbie, I was lucky to find this site when I was searching google for a 24-second shot clock circuit. Im still having problems in how to reset to 00 after reaching 24 but that is not what Im about to post, it will be in a wrong category.

What I want to ask is, which is better Interfacing via I/O card or a prototype/stand-alone computer using a motorola processor? we've been using Interfacing via I/O card for project design of Computer Engineering students but technology have phase-out EISA bus and was replaced by PCI, as of now we still have old computers(IBM pentium 1) that uses EISA but we just want to be prepared because lately some of those computers are not functioning.

Can anybody suggest what will be an alternative for Interfacing via I/O card in project design?

Not sure but maybe this will help.

Take a look at the **broken link removed**. This board is based on an Microchip PIC USB-capable microcontroller. It can be used as a USB to parallel converter.

It is quite inexpensive and can be purchased .

You really need to clarify exactly what you're asking, as 3v0 says, USB is pretty well replacing I/O cards for many purposes.

that was a very good replacement for EISA but I think it is not available here, we only maximize the use of materials that are available here the reason why we still stick in the old type of interfacing using 138 decoder , 244 buffer, and 373 latch for our I/O card.

We do not know where you are.

When your location limits what you can get, you should fill in your location of tell us where you are.

Microchip are made in Thiland and ship all over the world. The only part the is not very common on the UBW is the 18F2550 and maybe the USB connector. It would be worth you time to determine if you can get them.

The cost is low. Maybe about $10US if you can build them yourself.