Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I'm after a PIC programmer/dev board - Junebug in UK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fordy

Hey, I'm a complete amateur really - compared to other users of this site at least - but I want to do more with PICs.

As such, I'm after a programmer & development board. The Junebug looks like a great deal - but I can't find it in the UK! Anyone?

If that's a no go, two questions:

1) I'm in Florida in a couple of weeks. It's a long shot, but what sort of stores should I look out for that'd sell it?
2) What (cheapish!) programmer an dev kits would you recommend?

Thanks!!

Hi send blueroomelectronic a pm he designed the junebug and is very helpful. i am also in the uk and i got a junebug through bill (blueroom). its a great programmer

Ah excellent, thanks!

Also, before I take the plunge into learning something properly, is PIC a good way to go still? I'm only just starting out, so I could easily change course and use arduino or whatever instead - if that's where the future lies.

ah well thats going to be a matter of prefference. i am also a noob i been into this stuff for about a year ish, but i have been in hospital for a fair bit of that so i am still very much noob fodder. i started with the pic and the june bug after posting for recomendations. i didnt realy understand alot of what i was being told, looking back at some of my earliest posts i laugh now at the fact i was hung up on getting something with a ZIFF socket for programing.