Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Inchworm+ or Junebug?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lclark

Noob here, looking for advice. I just got 3 pieces of PIC16F877 on eBay for 99 cents each and would like to try my hand at programming them. I've been looking at programmers and want one that will be fairly friendly to learn on, but that I won't outgrow quickly or be limited to just a few PICs. I am leaning towards the Inchworm+ or the Junebug, but which one is best for a beginner? Thanks for your time, and I really appreciate the huge amount of information that everyone takes time to post on this site. It really helps beginners like me.
Thanks again,
Laura Clark

The Junebug is a good choice. You can learn quite a bit using the built in target/tutor. The Junebug is also much faster then the Inchworm+ unless you add the Unicorn board to the Inchworm+ that will allow it to communicate at USB speeds.

The Junebug/PICkit2 should support all the chips you will be interested in for quite a while.

Yes Junebug is a good choice, have both debugger and tutor on one PCB. Inchworm+ alone is just a debugger so you'd need to wire your microcontroller on a breadboard (for example). Of course you can do that with Junebug as well but you can start with the tutor first and then try a circuit on a breadboard. Third possibility would be a PicKit2 from Microchip + breadboard.

Petr

Thanks

Wow! A response in less than five minutes! Now that's fast!
Thanks for the advice...I sure appreciate it.