Interfacing a IR sensor to HC11 micro

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jjimenez101

Hi everyone,
Im working on a project for school, this project consists of interfacing a GP2D120 IR sensor to the 69HC11 controller. I have never used IR sensors before and want some helpful hints and suggestions on how to use them with controllers.

I need to know the EXACT or as close to the exact distance of a particular object. Now do i use an ADC to convert the output signal from the IR sensor into a digital format and determine from there? Do I use a comparator connected to the IR sensor and some kind of reference voltage?

And how do i go about programming this job in assembly language?

Answers to any or all of these questions would be Awesome

Thank you,
George

OK, you apply a voltage to Vcc and GND. The output Vo is an output voltage with a non-linear transfer function that can measure distance from about 3 cm to about 30 cm with the output changing by 1.8 to 1.9 Volts.

It is much more sensitive at one end of the range than the other. What does this mean? A small change in voltage at 30 cm corresponds to a large change in position. A large change in voltage at 3 cm corresponds to a small change in position.

The A/D converter on a 68HC11 is 8 bits with a 5V reference. So 5V/256 = 19.53 mV/LSB So that 19.53 mV over the 1.85 V is about 95 steps or an effective resolution of about 6.5 bits.

In practice this will result in considerable uncertainty in position at 30 cm and much lower uncertainty in position at 3 cm.

To make use of this device I would create a lookup table of approximately 100 values and the corresponding distance. Then I would use the value from the A/D conversion to lookup the distance and feed the distance to the code that uses it to make a decision about what to do next.

Last edited: