Interfacing usb webcam with uC storing image inside SD card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

redsuns

Hi, i am new to electronics project
i am in a hard time for a project about picture processing

my project is to build a low cost surveillance camera module on a movable device
i plan to use a usb webcam and interface it with a microcontroller and store images into SD card

is it possible to do so? if so what model of microcontroller suggested to use?
if not is there any other way to implement a low cost camera and capture image from it and store in a SD card?

p/s:the cmucam suggestion is definately out of my project budget range

First off you need a micro-controller with USB host, and presumably some kind of hardware MPEG compression - if you expect to get any amount of video on an SD card.

It's not a job for a beginner, it's a VERY complicated project - and would make a good final university project.

ya, i am a electronics majoring university student and this is my fyp project title,
my university is lack on conducting classes that is useful for my project
i have stuck on this for almost a month without any progression in this part

i am required to take some snapshots in a regular interval only, raw picture data is ok

will it be more simple if i use this camera?
sgBotic - Vision

if i kept with my original idea
is AT90USB1287 or AT91SAM7 suitable as usb host microcontroller for a usb webcam?

Last edited:
You've now changed your question dramatically, and made it a LOT simpler. That camera looks ideal for what you want, as you're only wanting intermittent still images, and it already includes JPEG compression for you.

I've no idea if those processors are USB host or not, presumably the datasheet tells you?. But for a start I would connect the camera to a PC, and develop it for that - then see about porting it to a micro.

for the camera by mean is the ucam or webcam?

I would suggest the serial camera, as it's MUCH more suitable for a micro.