Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Interrupts Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello guys, I'm a beginner in the programming pic department but, I'm getting to the point to where interrupts are starting to look more appealing but I have a couple of brief question about them first.

This piece of code is from the pic mcu ref manual and I was wandering why you have to SWPF the status reg when you save them.

Also, could I get a good explanation of what a macro is? Is it basically just a kind of subroutine, and why is there no call?

Code:
PUSH_MACRO MACRO ; This Macro Saves register contents
MOVWF W_TEMP ; Copy W to a Temporary Register
; regardless of current bank
SWAPF STATUS,W ; Swap STATUS nibbles and place
; into W register
MOVWF STATUS_TEMP ; Save STATUS to a Temporary register
; in Bank0
ENDM ; End this Macro
;
POP_MACRO MACRO ; This Macro Restores register contents
SWAPF STATUS_TEMP,W ; Swap original STATUS register value
; into W (restores original bank)
MOVWF STATUS ; Restore STATUS register from
; W register
SWAPF W_TEMP,F ; Swap W_Temp nibbles and return
; value to W_Temp
SWAPF W_TEMP,W ; Swap W_Temp to W to restore original
; W value without affecting STATUS
ENDM ; End this Macro

Thanks for any help you can give.

As I understand it a MACRO is just a text substitution thing, so the compiler just adds all the macro text lines any time is sees the macro name, so no need to call the code, as it is embedded automatically by the compiler.