IR beam emitter and Iphone app for sercurity system?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fastline

I notice that visible beam emitters seems to be in everything these days but might rather use IR to reduce any visibility concerns. I would be looking for a VERY tight beam configuration or lens options.

As well, I am still new to the technology just yet but it seems there are several tools available now to write apps for Iphones and the only missing like here is how to get a signal to a phone to alert of any IR beam breaks. I am hoping there is a chip already made that was designed for this application.

I guess I also have to hope the sensitivity can be set on the IR system to reduce rain concerns.

So all you want to do is have something call you when a beam is broken or anything else? If the location has a PC with internet connectivity it becomes pretty easy to do. Long as the PC is running. You need a simple piece of hardware to connect to the PC, something as simple as this would work or any hardware that will take a digital input. Some simple code and a simple script and the PC would phone you with a text message and an email if anything happens, like beam break, smoke detected or whatever.

If the PC is older with a RS232 port (serial port) even that could worrk for a digital input with a few channels. Depends on exactly what you want to do. I assumed you wanted something to call the I Phone or any smart phone.

I should point out simple solutions depend on the cell phone carrier and I am only familiar with some of the more popular US carriers.

Ron

Last edited: