Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IR Diode Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

thehaag

Hi All,

Im fairly new to electronics and would like to build my own laser driver however, I need to to supply an input of 2.2V and 1Amp how could I achieve this??

thanks

TJ

Circuit driver/regulator for LASER Diode

Hi all. would anyone here know how to make a laser driver/regulator that would support 2.2V and 1A to IR diode I'm trying to power I'm fairly new to electronics have basic experience with them but still a newby. Im doing this purely for educational purposes.

Last edited:
With a constant current power supply that can provide 1amp at around 2.2 volts?

Yes. I don't mind buying one first then building one but i cannot find anything. battery + driver (needs 2.2v and 1A current) + diode right?

Would a ghostdriver2 power it? Im unsure because of the high voltage and current that it has... over 2.2v and 1A... i don't mind buying one before i build one just to test some things out.

2.2 v is not very high voltage.
Some types of laser require monstrous high voltage and high current power supplies. So big that they cannot provide that power continuously!

I was about to suggest you the LM317 on constant current mode
http://users.telenet.be/davshomepage/current-source.htm

Keep in mind that the voltage and current not only affects the laser brightness, also its service life. Providing a heat sink for the diode may be also required.

Read the article at Sam's site