IR Diode Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

thehaag

Hi All,

Im fairly new to electronics and would like to build my own laser driver however, I need to to supply an input of 2.2V and 1Amp how could I achieve this??

thanks

TJ

Circuit driver/regulator for LASER Diode

Hi all. would anyone here know how to make a laser driver/regulator that would support 2.2V and 1A to IR diode I'm trying to power I'm fairly new to electronics have basic experience with them but still a newby. Im doing this purely for educational purposes.

Last edited:
look up lm317 or lm338 regulator, should give a start, the data sheet has some examples.

Yes. I don't mind buying one first then building one but i cannot find anything. battery + driver (needs 2.2v and 1A current) + diode right?

Would a ghostdriver2 power it? Im unsure because of the high voltage and current that it has... over 2.2v and 1A... i don't mind buying one before i build one just to test some things out.

2.2 v is not very high voltage.
Some types of laser require monstrous high voltage and high current power supplies. So big that they cannot provide that power continuously!

I was about to suggest you the LM317 on constant current mode
http://users.telenet.be/davshomepage/current-source.htm

Keep in mind that the voltage and current not only affects the laser brightness, also its service life. Providing a heat sink for the diode may be also required.

Read the article at Sam's site
http://donklipstein.com/laserdps.htm

How are you going to measure the diode's performance? It's IR!

Last edited:
The third schematic down on this link is a constant current source that will give 1 amp.

You could power it from a 12v battery, the efficiency will be horrible and you'll need a large heatsink, but its a start to get the thing working and only uses 2 components, the resistor needs to be 7w min.

A 2.5a fuse is also a good idea in case something shorts.