IR receiver using a PIC16F84A

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hauie

hey guys im new with microcontrollers and i have a school project to build a IR receiver that reads a sony IR code using only C language.

i have Htsoft's PICCllite and MPlab.

i know there is alot of examples of finished project but they are all in asm files... i dont understand them.

Just wondering how i should start, any hints or pointers are greatly appreciated.

You might check my tutorials which explains the format of the Sony SIRC's system - but the code is all in assembler.

thanks nigel, that helped alot
i have been doing some research on PICClite and 16f84a

i was thinking of using a interupt and TMR0 to get the pulse of the IR but am not sure how to start

do u know anything about programming a PIC in C nigel? or can anyone else help =) thanks

Can't help you at all on C, the majority of PIC programming is in assembler, and if you can't write a reasonable amount of assembler, you won't be able to write very good C either!.

You might try asking on the forums for the compiler?, don't they run support forums?.

Hmm i have never learnt assembly before.

i have done some projects with atmel atmega48 and i did not have to use assembly at all. but thanks for the reply anyway.

Hauie said:
Hmm i have never learnt assembly before.

i have done some projects with atmel atmega48 and i did not have to use assembly at all. but thanks for the reply anyway.

Assembler forces you to understand the processor, which is essential in programming a micro-controller - you can't write effective C without that knowledge.

Yeah i have been told that too.
my supervisor told me i dont have to use assembly. he is not particular with precise timing and register allocations.

Oh and i went to ur main page ur a ju jitsu master. very interesting

Hauie said:
Yeah i have been told that too.
my supervisor told me i dont have to use assembly. he is not particular with precise timing and register allocations.