Is it alive? Testing a new PIC programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

F*SH

Hello all

I'm new to the whole microcontroller scene. I just built, according to a kit (**broken link removed**), a very simple PIC programmer and test board. This was designed for and supplied with a PIC30F84A, which I understand to be and old but faithful member of the PIC family and a suitable starting platform.

Anyway, I built the circuit as per the instructions. Then I ran the (very basic) send program which is supposed to take my assembled program (currently using a supplied example program as advised to) and sends it, via the parallel port, to the PIC. Then the PIC, once brought out of program/verify mode, is supposed to light up a couple of LEDs that are directly wired to its B port.

But... it doesn't. The PIC apparently does nothing. All I/O ports remain low during runtime. Since I'm using a very simple programmer, there's no obvious way I can see to tell where the problem lies - whether it is during the programming or the runtime.

As far as I can tell, the hardware is fine. All solder joints are good and continuity tests show now problems anywhere. Power is being supplied at the appropriate pins. While in program/verify mode, the voltage at MLCR is just shy of 12v, when switched to runtime mode, 5v. There is a RC clock input at the oscillator in pin.

My problem is that I really can't see how to diagnose this problem. I personally suspect the problem lies with the PC's LPT port used for the interface; neither the clock nor data pins used change in the slightest when the program is supposedly being transferred (using an oscilloscope to monitor), they both seem to sit at around 5v, although this might be all I'd be able to see.