Is there one kit that can programm PIC with 18, 20, 28-pins

Status
Not open for further replies.

folarinv

I just started learning Microcontrollers. My concern is would i have to buy different programming kit for the various types of ICs that exists i.e there are PIC with 18-pins, 20-pins, 28-pins and so on. 20-pin IC may not fit into the 18-pin kit

secondly, most of the tutorials always talk about 16F. but i have a faulty charger circuit i'm troubleshooting and PIC16C71-04/p is used in the circuit. so what could be the consequence if i start to learn with 16C71****

Re: Is there one kit that can programm PIC with 18, 20, 28-p

folarinv said:
I just started learning Microcontrollers. My concern is would i have to buy different programming kit for the various types of ICs that exists i.e there are PIC with 18-pins, 20-pins, 28-pins and so on. 20-pin IC may not fit into the 18-pin kit

Have a look at the P16PRO40 (circuit is on my website), this uses either separate sockets, or a single 40 pin Aries ZIF socket, any PIC from 8 pins to 40 pins can be programmed in the single socket, by inserting them in the correct place.

secondly, most of the tutorials always talk about 16F. but i have a faulty charger circuit i'm troubleshooting and PIC16C71-04/p is used in the circuit. so what could be the consequence if i start to learn with 16C71****

The consequence is that the 16C71 is OTP, so you can only use it once. You can buy a UV eraseable version (JW), but these are extremely expensive - and slow to develop with as they take a good while to erase under UV.

Far better to use a more modern FLASH version, there's almost certainly a FLASH replacement for the 16C71.

As it's a 16 series chip, with a 14 bit core, any of the 16F series will run the same code - although there will be slight differences due to the facilities included, mainly setting up.

Thanks so much Nigel. but i have a few more questions: