Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

is this uC 8-bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.
"8051 microcontroller core"

that is 8-bit microcontroller.

I'm trying to remember of all the things i dealt with when I was an embedded programmer few years ago,
Because I think that would be the main subject in the interviews, as now I'm QA engineer.

I got just a few days to remember everything.

T, regarding 8-bit.

8-bit CPU means that the address bus is composed of 8 wires.

However, it is not that there are only 2^8 = 256 memory addresses, each of size 8-bit, right?

So how come 8-bit CPU has over 256bytes of memory?

the 8-bit CPU actually uses the bus several times for every memory address?

T, regarding 8-bit.

8-bit CPU means that the address bus is composed of 8 wires.

However, it is not that there are only 2^8 = 256 memory addresses, each of size 8-bit, right?

So how come 8-bit CPU has over 256bytes of memory?

the 8-bit CPU actually uses the bus several times for every memory address?

And you hope to pass a job interview? :eek:

The DATA bus is 8 bits, the ADDRESS bus is usually 16 bit (so 64K memory - in theory) - this is absolutely basic simple information (similar to knowing what a steering wheel is if you were applying for a driving job).

Hi Nigel, thank you very much.

The data bus being 8 bit - does it mean that every time you approach a memoty address, you can write/read to/from it only 8 bits in each write/read operation?