LCD abd Microcontroller Trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

gstavrev

Hello,
I have been sweeping the forums most of the afternoon making progress on an LCD. I have the pic18f4252 and I am trying to make it work with a 2*16 LCD.

This is a link to the LCD data sheet.
**broken link removed**

I am still new to these electronics projects, but to my understanding it isn't the Hitachi 44780, but very similar. This is a link to the driver spec, KS0066U:
http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/SamsungElectronic/mXuuzvr.pdf

I am using Microchip's C18 compiler. I wasn't able to get the contrast working at first, but that is taken care of now. Below is my C code. I think I have initialized the LCD correctly, but I am not very positive. It seems to be fine until I tell it to display something. I am able to move the cursor to a desired place, all over the display, but when I tell it to print (which might not be right way) it just moves the cursor.

This is the code: ( Parts of it are taken from a book "PIC Microcontroller and Embedded Systems" by Mazidi/McKinlay/Causey)

Code:
#include <p18cxxx.h>
#define ldata PORTD			// PORTD = LCD data pins
#define rs PORTBbits.RB0	//rs = PORTB.0
#define rw PORTBbits.RB1	//rw = PORTB.1
#define en PORTBbits.RB2	//en = PORTB.2
#define busy PORTDbits.RD7	// busy = PORTD.7

#pragma config WDT = OFF
#pragma config LVP = OFF

void MSDelay(unsigned int itime)
{
	unsigned int i, j;
	for(i = 0; i < itime; i++)
		for ( j = 0; j < 135; j++);
}

void lcdcmd(unsigned char value)
{
	ldata = value;	// put the value on the pins
	rs = 0;
	rw = 0;
	en = 1;		// strobe the enable pin
	MSDelay(1);
	en = 0;
}

void lcddata(unsigned char value)
{
	ldata = value;	// put the value on the pins
	rs = 1;
	rw = 0;
	en = 1;		// strobe the enable pin
	MSDelay(1);
	en = 0;
}

void main(void)
{
	TRISD = 0;		// port D as output
	TRISB = 0; 		// port B as output
	en = 0;			// enable idle low
	MSDelay(250);
	lcdcmd(0x38);	//inti. LCD 2 lines, 5*8 matrix