Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LCD Help - 4 DataBus not 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hobe

First post!

I'm trying to work with an existing assembly file. Its perfect in every way, apart from I need to free up some pins on my PIC (as I need additional switches and sensors). The only way I can fit it all in is to use 4DB lines not the 8 that the assembly file currently uses.

I'm fairly new to assembly coding, so I was wondering if someone could help me on my way to making the attached assembly run with 4db lines.

Attachments

• countLCD.txt
    11.9 KB · Views: 182
8 databus schematic link: Link

I hope this is enough info. The 4 databus line schematic is exactly the same but only using databus lines 4-7 not 0-7. If there is any more information I can supply to help please let me know.

Last edited:
Any help at all would be appreciated :eek:
hi,
I did look at your program earlier, sorry, but its not a quick fix, it not well commented.
The LCD module lines for 4 bit are D7,6,5,4 , the high nibble
You have then to decide which nibble of the PORT you want to use, ie: high or low.
You need an additional ram buffer to hold the byte you are going to write to the LCD, so that you swap the nibbles over as you send them to the LCD.

EDIT:
Tried your program in Oshonsoft, it will not run.
Goes into fixed loop ???

Last edited:
Hi,